ravicoinworld@gmail.com +91 9051070786

Commemorative coins on “National Archives of India 1891-2016”

March 18, 2016 Published by admin

nia release

Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Minister of State (I/C) for Culture and Tourism and Minister of State for Civil Aviation  released Two Commemorative Coins on NAI – a Commemorative coin of Rs. 125/- and a Circulating Coin of  Rs.10/- to celebrating 125th foundation year of National Archives of India on 11th March, 2016.

NAI logo

The National Archives of India (NAI) maintains the non-current records of the Government of India and which can be used after permission by administrators and scholars. It was originally called Imperial Record Department when it was established in 1891, in Calcutta. NAI was shifted to Delhi in 1911 and is today situated at the intersection of Janpath and Rajpath.

Shri K.R. Narayanan, then President of India, declared the “Museum of the National Archives” open to the general public on 6 July 1998 which provides an overview of the holdings of the National Archives, and promotes a common man’s interest in archival holdings.

National Archives of India (NAI)